• Email
  • Print

News Updates

Garland's Emergency Management Coordinator Earns Certification

Garland Emergency Management Coordinator, Mollie Gilmore Rivas, was one of 75 candidates who were approved by the North American Application Review Commission during the February 20-22, 2014 review meeting to receive the Certified Emergency Manager® (CEM®) credential. The CEM® designation is the highest honor of professional achievement available from the International Association of Emergency Managers (IAEM), which has in its membership more than 5,000 emergency managers representing professionals whose goals are saving lives and protecting property and the environment during emergencies and disasters.

Ms. Rivas has served in the City of Garland’s Office of Emergency Management since 2006. She has been involved in preparedness planning and responses such as Hurricane Katrina, area severe weather events, H1N1 influenza, and the Bush Presidential Library Dedication. Ms. Rivas considers regional collaboration a critical part of disaster planning and serves as vice chair of the Regional Emergency Managers Committee for the North Central Texas Region. She is responsible for developing the City’s emergency preparedness planning and training programs. She coordinated the installation of a new outdoor warning system that covers major outdoor gathering venues in Garland.

“One of my current priorities is to enhance our ability to communicate with and assist residents with functional needs,” said Ms. Rivas. “We want to ensure these unique needs are included in our disaster planning process.”

For more information about emergency preparedness, visit the Office of Emergency Management web page.

Commission, Requirements
IAEM administers the program for the profession, and policy decisions and judgments are made by a Commission of respected professionals in the field. The North American Application Review Commission approved applicants who successfully completed an extensive credentials package, a management essay and a written examination. The credentials requirements include experience, references, education, training, and contributions to the profession. The management essay requires respondents to submit a response to a scenario they might face while fulfilling emergency management responsibilities. To maintain certification, CEM® recipients must submit additional training and contributions to the professional every five years.

CEM® Program
The emergency management certification program was developed over the last several years by IAEM with funding from the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) and guidance from an advisory board which included professionals from a variety of disciplines and representatives of key groups with a stake in emergency management.

The new class of CEM®'s join the 2,066 other emergency managers who were approved for the designation since January, 1993 bringing the total number of Certified Emergency Managers® to 2,141.