• Email
  • Print

Neighborhood Police Officers

In 1993, Garland created a community police program called the Neighborhood Service Team (NST).  Athough initially developed for only certain neighborhoods of the city, the NST Unit was very successful and went through several growth periods until it covered the entire city and was renamed the Neighborhood Police Officer Unit (NPO Unit).

Currently the Neighborhood Police Officer (NPO) Program has:  

  • 16 officers 
  • 2 NPO Lieutenants

Each officer in the NPO Unit is assigned a particular area of the city.  Within their assigned area, the officer works with patrol officers, employees from other city departments, GISD, business owners, and especially citizens to identify and assist with ongoing problems that affect the area.

Primary duties of a Neighborhood Police Officer (NPO) are:

  1. Work with Crime Watch groups, Apartment Managers, Neighborhood Associations, and other community groups within the area. The NPO will be the primary contact for these groups, providing information about ongoing crime trends, soliciting help from the community in solving problems in their neighborhoods, and encouraging and assisting neighborhoods in banding together to work with the police toward a common goal.
  2. Identify specific crime trends within the area, formulate a strategy for addressing the offenses, coordinate and participate in the solution.
  3. Identify and respond to specific problems within the neighborhood including repeat call locations, ongoing neighborhood disturbances, and deteriorating conditions which contribute to the overall decline of the neighborhood.
  4. The NPO will also use high visibility enforcement, abatement procedures, and seizure processes to disrupt the proceeds and lifestyle of their criminal enterprise.

In addition to these primary duties, the NPO Unit promotes several community programs and services.  

For more information, call or email your Neighborhood Police Officer or you may call (972) 485-4881. Print map with names  Print map with Officer Information

Districts Officer Phone E-mail
11 Capers     972-485-4883 capersj@garlandtx.gov
12 Capers 972-485-4883   capersj@garlandtx.gov
13         J. L. Mohler 972-205-1649 mohlerjl@garlandtx.gov
14 Barnes 972-205-2042 barnest@garlandtx.gov
21 Shreves 972-485-4876 shrevesr@garlandtx.gov
22 Clark     972-485-4857 clarkm@garlandtx.gov
23 Clark 972-485-4857 clarkm@garlandtx.gov
24 T. Franey 972-485-4899
franeyt@garlandtx.gov 
25 T. Franey 972-485-4899 franeyt@garlandtx.gov
31 Duncan 972-205-2980 duncanr@garlandtx.gov
32 Duncan 972-205-2980 duncanr@garlandtx.gov 
33 Hicks
972-205-2032
hicksb@garlandtx.gov 
34 Hicks 972-205-2032
hicksb@garlandtx.gov
35 Dockter 972-205-4043 dockterc@garlandtx.gov 
41 M. St. Clair 972-485-4821 stclairm@garlandtx.gov
42 Pesta
972-485-4896 pestam@garlandtx.gov
43 M. St.Clair 972-485-4821 stclairm@garlandtx.gov
44 Pesta
972-485-4896
pestam@garlandtx.gov
45 Wade 972-205-1659 waded@garlandtx.gov
46 Wade
972-205-1659
waded@garlandtx.gov
51 Redus 972-485-4823 redusr@garlandtx.gov
52 M.R. Hatfield 972-485-4815 hatfieldmr@garlandtx.gov
53 M.R. Hatfield
972-485-4815 hatfieldmr@garlandtx.gov
54  Ashcroft 972-485-4898  ashcroftr@garlandtx.gov
55 Divers  972-485-4882 diverst@garlandtx.gov 
56 Divers
972-485-4882
diverst@garlandtx.gov 

Community Relations Officer

Officer Phone E-mail
Alberto Irizarry 972-485-4830 irizarrya@garlandtx.gov

NPO Supervisors

Supervisor Phone E-mail
Lt. Ben St.Clair - 10, 20 & 30 Sectors 972-205-1683 stclairb@garlandtx.gov
Lt. Jessica Chittamai - 40 & 50 Sectors   972-485-4880 chittamaij@garlandtx.gov