Parks & Recreation Board

The Parks and Recreation Board is a citizen advisory board appointed by the Mayor and City Council to provide recommendations to the Council and to establish policies regarding Garland’s parks system and recreation programs.

Established in 1956, the Parks and Recreation Board consists of nine members who serve two-year terms. The Parks and Recreation Board meets at 7:00 PM on the first Wednesday of each month in the City Council Work Session Room at City Hall, 200 North Fifth Street. Meetings are open to the public.

The Parks and Recreation Board may be contacted through the Parks and Recreation office at 972-205-2750 or via e-mail at

Ed Seghers
District 1

Patsy Rogers
District 5

Sharon Carstens
District 2
  Don Starkey
District 6
Art Whitaker
District 3 

Laura McLarry
District 7

D. Cecil Williams II
District 4


Molly Bishop
District 8 

Robert John Smith
Mayoral Appointee